Bartlett Cleland

Senior Advisor, LAMP

Bartlett D. Cleland serves as the executive director of Rainey Center’s Leadership Alliance for a More Perfect Union (LAMP) program. In this role, he interfaces with legislators from across the country, as well as runs LAMP programs and seminars, including a program for leadership training. He also is a research fellow with the Institute for Policy Innovation in Texas, and Senior fellow, Tech and Innovation for the Pacific Research Institute in California. He serves as a member of the US Stakeholder Council, a member of the Federal Communications Commission’s Consumer Advisory Council and a member of the ISO 279 (Innovation Management) Technical Advisory Group.

Before joining Rainey Center, Cleland served on the Internet Education Foundation Board of Directors, where he worked closely with the Internet Caucus on Capitol Hill. He served two terms as the Chair of the Technology and Communications Taskforce of the American Legislative Exchange Council. He also was a member of the Internet Safety Technical Taskforce, a group comprised of leading Internet businesses and organizations and formed by 49 state attorneys general to focus on identifying effective online safety tools and technologies.

Previously, Cleland worked for Americans for Tax Reform as technology and policy counsel, and advised Commissioner Grover G. Norquist on the Advisory Committee on Electronic Commerce. He has also represented the software industry handling a variety of copyright issues including open source and proprietary challenges, and a variety of tax and finance issues particular to the software industry, serving as tax and associate general counsel at ITAA, and later as Regional VP of Texas for TechAmerica.

Cleland graduated from Millikin University with a bachelor of science degree in philosophy and business administration. He received his master of business administration degree, as well as his law degree with a specialization in international and comparative law, from St. Louis University. He is admitted to the Missouri bar.